HRM Model

In recent years there has been relative agreement among HRM specialists as to what consitutes the fiels of HRM. The model that provided the focus was developed by the American Society for Training and Development (ASTD). In its study, ASTD indentified nine human resource areas:

1. Training and Development
2. Organization and Development
3. Organization/Job Design
4. Human Resource Planning
5. Selection and Staffing
6. Personnel Research and Information Systems
7. Compensation/Benefits
8. Employee Assistance
9. Union/Labor RElations

These nine areas have been termed spokes of the wheel in that each area implacts on the human resource outputs: quality of work life, productivity, and readiness for change. Figure 2 is a representation of this model, and the focus of each spoke.

The outputs of this model-quality of work like, productivity, and readiness for change-warrant further exploration. Let us now take a closer look at each.

Share This Post

Related Articles

© 2024 Human Resource Management. All rights reserved. Site Admin · Entries RSS · Comments RSS
Powered by HRM Practice · Designed by HRM Practice